Home / Students & Parents / Year 10 Program


In choosing your Year 10 program, you should be planning not just for one year, but also for following years. You should take into account your strengths and weaknesses and any plans for career or further education. There are a number of different Pathways available at Year 10 and you should consult closely with your course advisor when making your choices. There are eight key learning areas: English, Mathematics, Arts, Health and Physical Education, Languages Other Than English (LOTE), Science, Studies of Society and the Environment (SOSE) and Technology.


Unit structure
Year 10 Subjects are blocked with Year 11 and Year 12 subjects to enable acceleration and access to VET and VCE Units 1/2 for Year 10 students. All subjects are in five period blocks of two double periods and one single. A standard Year 10 program would involve the selection of an English, Maths, Science and SOSE elective each semester plus the selection of two other electives each semester or accessing VET or VCE studies. Alternative Pathways can also be negotiated to provide for specialisation and special circumstance. e.g. School-based New Apprenticeships. These programs must be endorsed by the Course Advisor and Assistant Principal.


  • A range of semester electives are offered in the Arts, Health and PE and Technology Key Learning Areas.
  • Students must choose four electives (two per semester).
  • VCE Units 1/2 and VET Units are available for Year 10 students, who meet approved criteria.
  • PreCAL units are offered to students seeking an employment opportunity prior to Year 12.

Share This


Leave a Reply